BJP leading in Ambala-Panchkula region with 3 out of 3 seats

Note: This story is correct as of 23:19 IST

1. The Seatshare Story

BJP won 3 of the total 3 seats - unchanged from the 2014 election. Congress did not win any seats, unchanged from the previous election.

2. Vote share

BJP's voteshare was 47.6%, an increase of 0.4% from the previous election. Others had 29.2% voteshare: an increase of 8.0% from the previous election. Congress had 21.1% voteshare: a fall of 3.2% from the previous election. JJP had 1.6% voteshare: an increase of 1.6% from the previous election.

3. Margin of victory

The median margin of victory decreased from 14.4% in 2014 to 5.0%, indicating a relatively more competitive election.

BJP had a relatively high median victory margin of 5.0%, and won most of the seats it contested with a comfortable margin.

4. Constituency-wise results

Constituency-wise results for Ambala-Panchkula are included in the table below:

AC Name Leading Candidate Leading Party Lead Margin
Ambala Cantt. ANIL VIJ Bharatiya Janata Party 20165
Ambala City Aseem Goel Naneola Bharatiya Janata Party 8952
Panchkula Gian Chand Gupta Bharatiya Janata Party 5633