BJP leading in Greater Gurgaon region with 3 out of 5 seats

Note: This story is correct as of 23:19 IST

1. The Seatshare Story

BJP won 3 of the total 5 seats - a fall of 2 seats from the 2014 election. Congress came in second: it bagged 1 seats, an increase of 1 from the previous election. Others lagged further behind: it bagged 1 seats, an increase of 1 from the previous election.

2. Vote share

BJP's voteshare was 39.0%, a fall of 8.8% from the previous election. Others had 38.8% voteshare: an increase of 18.9% from the previous election. Congress had 12.3% voteshare: an increase of 2.7% from the previous election. JJP had 9.4% voteshare: an increase of 9.4% from the previous election.

3. Margin of victory

The median margin of victory decreased from 29.1% in 2014 to 7.0%, indicating a relatively more competitive election.

BJP had a relatively high median victory margin of 17.0%, and won most of the seats it contested with a comfortable margin. Congress had a relatively low median victory margin of 0.0%, and won most of the seats it did with a narrow margin.

4. Constituency-wise results

Constituency-wise results for Greater Gurgaon are included in the table below:

AC Name Leading Candidate Leading Party Lead Margin
Badshahpur RAKESH DAULTABAD Independent 10186
Gurgaon SUDHIR SINGLA Bharatiya Janata Party 33315
Pataudi (SC) SATYA PARKASH Bharatiya Janata Party 36579
Rewari CHIRANJEEV RAO Indian National Congress 1317
Sohna SANJAY SINGH Bharatiya Janata Party 12453